Race Walk UK - Walking races in the UK / Information for UK athletes
Search |
Email Password




Event Results

  Date:    17 January 2009      View all races for this date    Re-order by age grade
  Distance:    5 mile
  Race:    Enfield League Race 1  
  Location:    Donkey Lane, Enfield

Forty-four starters (thirty-nine last year) racing in chilly but bright conditions was an excellent start to the new series. Reigning champion Trevor Jones made a resolute start to his title defence, whilst Helen Middleton had little trouble taking maximum points on this occasion.

It was good to see Chelsea O’Rawe-Hobbs making a tentative comeback after injury, as indeed it was to see Don Cox, Graham Chapman and Pam Ficken who haven’t been in action for some time, but sad to report that League regular Nick Silvester will be out of action for some time with a back injury. Newcomers Paul Cole and Steve Whelan both qualified for Five in the Hour badges.

 Gender   Position   Athlete   Age Group   Grade   Club   Time   

  F   1     Helen Middleton   W45       E&H     00:46:54      
  F   2     Anne Belchambers Jones   W50       Steyn     00:49:59      
  F   3     Fiona Bishop   W45       AFD     00:52:37      
  F   4     Diana Braverman   W55       E&H     00:55:10      
  F   5     Jo Miles   W50       Hill     00:55:43      
  F   6     Norma Grimsey   W50       E&H     00:57:00      
  F   7     Emelia Makowska   SW       Hill     01:01:36      
  F   8     Barbara Edlin   W60       E&H     01:01:43      
  F   9     Pam Ficken   W65       Sy WC     01:04:58      
  F   10     Chelsea O Rawe-Hobbs   U20W       Castle P   4827 metres   00:27:58      

  M   1     Trevor Jones   M50       Steyn     00:40:51      
  M   2     Stephen Crane   SM       Sy WC     00:41:41      
  M   3     Philip Barnard   SM       Castle P     00:43:09      
  M   4     Peter Ryan   M50       Ilf     00:44:54      
  M   5     Steve Uttley   M50       Ilf     00:45:08      
  M   6     Dave Kates   M60       Ilf     00:45:33      
  M   7     Arthur Thomson   M70       E&H     00:45:47      
  M   8     Andy Cox   M55       Hill     00:45:52      
  M   9     Shaun Lightman   M65       Sy WC     00:46:26      
  M   10     Carl Lawton   M60       Belg     00:46:50      
  M   11     Graham Chapman   M50       Head     00:46:53      
  M   12     Alan Ellam   M50       E&H     00:47:21      
  M   13     Amos Seddon   M65       E&H     00:48:03      
  M   14     Dave Sharpe   M55       Ilf     00:48:19      
  M   15     Laurence Dordoy   M50       Ilf     00:48:35      
  M   16     Mark Culshaw   M40       Belg     00:49:15      
  M   17     Mike Hinton   M65       Ilf     00:49:51      
  M   18     Don Cox   M60       Col H     00:50:09      
  M   19     Ken Ballam   M70       E&H     00:51:22      
  M   20     Tony Kelly   M60       Ilf     00:51:25      
  M   21     Sean Pender   M55       E&H     00:51:30      
  M   22     Peter Crane   M60       Sy WC     00:51:35      
  M   23     Ron Powell   M70       E&H     00:53:40      
  M   24     Stephen Holliday   M60       M&M     00:54:17      
  M   25     Alan O Rawe   M65       Ilf     00:54:28      
  M   26     Jon May   M55       E&H     00:55:20      
  M   27     Doug Fotheringham   M75       Belg     00:57:00      
  M   28     Bernie Hercock   M70       E&H     00:57:06      
  M   29     Paul Cole   SM       Col H     00:58:45      
  M   30     Steve Whelan   M45       Head     00:59:14      
  M   31     Peter Howard   M65       E&H     00:59:49      
  M   32     Eddie Trotter   M55       Ilf     01:01:35      
  M   33     Ken Livermore   M75       E&H     01:03:13      
  M   34     Dave Ainsworth   M60       Ilf     01:05:31